Diamond from coal that has undergone pressure

Treasures in the Darkness

Culled from The Ultimate Checklist for Life. (17-01-2013)

Theme: Troubles

Title: Treasures in the Darkness

 

I will give you the treasures of darkness and hidden riches of secret places that you may know that I, the LORD who call you by your name am the God of Israel. – Isaiah 45:3 NKJV

 

When troubles come, you have a choice – to let troubles destroy you or transform you. A diamond is just a piece of coal that has undergone pressure. When you are handed a lump of coal in the form of trouble, it’s an opportunity to see how God can transform it into a spiritual treasure.

 

Ugly things can become jewels reflecting the light of God, if you are willing to go into the darkness with Him and find the treasure.

 

In the darkness, out of sight, God will use the pressures and problems to create the lovely jewel of a quiet spirit, a strengthened character, and a wiser heart. One day you will see – whether in this life or in the shining, glorious crown of glory you will behold in the next life. There are treasures to be discovered in the darkness, and troubles can be transformed into glorious victories, if you can walk through them trusting God.

 

I Will:

Remember that troubles are temporary and that my true hope rests in eternal things. Yes

Be willing to take extra effort with my appearance when I’m feeling downhearted. Yes

 

Things to Do:

  • Read Psalm 42
  • Write in my journal about 3 things that trouble me and how I feel about them
  • Find and memorise a Bible verse to answer each of those three troubles with a promise from God
  • Have a quiet half hour by myself and relax

 

Things to Remember:

Cast your burden upon the Lord, and He shall sustain you; He shall never permit the righteous to be moved – Psalm 55:22 NKJV

The people that walked in darkness have seen a great light; they that dwell in the land of the shadow of death, upon them hath the light shined. – Isaiah 9:2 KJV

Everything exposed by light becomes visible, for it is light that makes everything visible. – Ephesians 5:13 NIV

We do not lose heart. Even though our outward man is perishing, yet the inward man is being renewed day by day. – 2 Corinthians 4:16 NKJV

 

In times of trouble, remember that God is too kind to be cruel, too wise to make a mistake, and too deep to explain himself. – Author unknown

 

Psalm 42:

As the heart panteth after the water brooks, so panteth my soul after thee, O God.

2 My soul thirsteth for God, for the living God: when shall I come and appear before God?

3 My tears have been my meat day and night, while they continually say unto me, Where is thy God?

4 When I remember these things, I pour out my soul in me. For I had gone with the multitude, I went with them to the house of God, with the voice of joy and praise, with a multitude that kept holyday.

5 Why art thou cast down, O my soul? And why art thou disquieted in me? Hope thou in God: for I shall yet praise him for the help of his countenance.

6 O my God, my soul is cast down within me therefore will I remember thee from the land of Jordan, and of the Her-mon-ites, from the hill Mi-zar.

7 Deep calleth unto deep at the noise of thy watersprouts: all thy waves and thy billows are gone over me.

8 Yet the LORD will command his loving kindness in the daytime, and in the night his song shall be with me, and my prayer unto the God of my life.

9 I will say unto God my rock, why hast thou forgotten me? Why go I mourning because of the oppression of the enemy?

10 As with a sword in my bones, mine enemies reproach me; while they say daily unto me, Where is thy God?

11 Why art thou cast down, O my soul? And why art thou disquieted within me? Hope thou in God: for I shall yet praise him, who is the health of my countenance, and my God.

About nasserugoji

I was born to serve. When I look into my life I see my purpose is not a mystery. Now you don't have to be like me because some of us were meant to be, queens and kings and majesty, but me I was born to serve. But then I found I could flow due to the momentum built up by active service came the potential to cruise upon the waves of the seasons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

